Home Page











Slide Shows

Special Features
















South of the Border - Sons of the Pioneers


· Audio CD

· Label: Sony – BMG A713332


Album Review by OJ Sikes:


            Late in 2007, producer Fred Goodwin released another of his wonderful CDs of Sons of the Pioneers music recorded in the 1960s by the trio of Lloyd Perryman, Dale Warren and Tommy Doss. The title notwithstanding, the songs on this one go beyond border tunes to include, for example, the beautiful “Silver on the Sage” and both “Carry Me Back to the Lone Prairie” & “O Bury Me Not on the Lone Prairie.” But most of the CD’s 24 selections are, indeed, border tunes. 10 of the 11 songs from the Pioneers’ 1967 RCA Victor LP, South of the Border, are included, as are 8 more border songs.

           The recordings are in the original stereo, beautifully re-mastered, and many of these songs have never been re-issued on CD before. The trio is a favorite of many fans and musicians alike, and they were at their peak during the time these recordings were made. This CD is a “must” for every Western music fan. $24.95ppd (major credit cards accepted) from Concept Productions, PO Box 3151, Murfreesboro, TN 37133-3151 or call 1 (615) 890-3047. http://www.cowboylegends.com



  1. My Adobe Hacienda

  2. Maria Elena

  3. South Of The Border

  4. Sleepy Rio Grande

  5. It Happened In Monterey

  6. Memories Are Made Of This

  7. A Gay Ranchero

  8. Rosa

  9. You Belong To My Heart

  10. Spanish Eyes

  11. Love Me With All Your Heart

  12. Yours

  13. By The River Of The Roses

  14. Carry Me Back To The Lone Prairie

  15. Silver On The Range

  16. I Still Do

  17. A Cowboy Has To Sing

  18. El Paso

  19. Margretta

  20. Mexicali Rose

  21. O Bury Me Not On The Lone Prairie

  22. Greenfields

  23. Ramona

  24. Vaya Con Dios